DAR Logo

Carroll JoDaviess Chapter

Mt. Carroll, Illinois

The DAR is a non-profit, non-political volunteer women's service organization dedicated to promoting patriotism, preserving American history, and securing America's future through better education.

The DAR gives members an opportunity for service in many areas. It is a way to join with others in trying to make America a better place to live. DAR offers an opportunity to meet people with similar interests, develop friendships, and to join others who cherish the priceless heritage enjoyed by all while promoting the ideals of patriotism and love of country.

We look forward to meeting you and helping you to become a part of this great organization. Our members are from a variety of backgrounds and occupations and range in age from young to “experienced,” with many different talents contributing to our volunteer efforts.

Contact Us

We hope you enjoyed this video of Daughters at work and play.
If you want to find out more, visit our national and state websites.

Mt. Carroll

Carroll Chapter was organized on February 21, 1929, with a membership of 13 in the home of Organizing Regent Ileen Bullis Campbell. In 1931, a marker was dedicated at the grave of Daniel Christian, Revoluntionary War soldier buried at Oak Hill Cemetery. In 1932, Ileen Bullis Campbell presented Carroll Chapter with a gavel made of wood from the original George Washington estate at Wakefield, Virginia. Illen Bullis Campbell served as State Regent (1935-1937) for the Illinois State Organization and Treasurer General from 1941-1944. Luanne Frosch Bruckner served as State Regent for the Illinois State Organization from 2009-2011.

Apple River Canyon Chapter was organized on October 17, 1968, with Iva Jean Eickman as organizing chapter regent. The chapter was named for the well-known Illinois State Park in JoDaviess County, Apple River Canyon State Park. On February 4, 2012, the National Board of Management approved the merger of Carroll and Apple River Canyon Chapters with the name of Carroll JoDaviess Chapter.

Our Officers

Regent Connie Foster
First Vice Regent Linda Thayer
Second Vice Regent Kay Russell
Chaplain Sondra Strohecker
Recording Secretary Gwen Smith
Corresponding Secretary Barb Burger
Treasurer Cindy Dyson
Registrar Luanne Bruckner
Historian Ann Coppernoll
Librarian Laura Youngblut

Our Programs 2021-2022

September 17-23 Constitution Week
September 18 Signing of Constitution Week Proclamation
Rod Brandt, Mayor of Stockton
September 25 Illinois Veterans Home
October 11 NSDAR National Day of Service
October 16 Safety Tips for Women
Representative from the Carroll County Sheriff’s Department
November 11 Veteran's Day
November 13 Tomb of the Unknow Soldier: A Centruy of Honor, 1921-2021
Book Review given by Frank Norem
December 11 Singing Christmas Carols
Charles Carroll C.A.R. Society to attend
February 19 Flowers and Conservation
Paul Fritz
March 19 Annual Recognitiion Day
American History Essay Contest, DAR Good Citizens, Community Service, Flag Certificate, and Outstanding Teacher of American History
April 9 My Life as a Treasury Agent for the IRS
Taylor Hughes
May 21 My Grandmother’s DAR
Debra Coe, Illinois State Regent

The names of our honored patriot ancestors are listed here with the state from which they served. Each Daughter of the Carroll JoDaviess Chapter, NSDAR has proven her lineage from one or more of these men of the American Revolution.

Seth Andrews — NY
Elijah Bailey — MA
Micah Balcom, Jr. — MA
Benjamin Barber — RI
Jehiel Benham — CT
Philip Jacob Benighoff — PA
Moses Bloomfield — NJ
Johannes N Boyer — PA
Edward Brockway — CT
Jonathan Carriel — MA
John Clore, Jr. — VA
Nicholas Coleman — PA
Nathaniel Crenshaw — VA
Leonard Divan — PA
Samuel Duff — VA
Samuel Duff, Sr. — NC
John Earnest — PA
John Flack — NC
Jonathan Fletcher — NH
Moses Gile — VT

Henry Graham — PA
Asahel Greene — NH
James Greenwood — MA
Daniel Greenwood, Sr. — MA
Benjamin Griswold — MA
John C. Happy — NY
Robert Hardesty — MD
Samuel Hawkins — VA
William Hazelrigg, Jr. — PA
Patrick Henry — VA
Peter Hitt — VA
David Holman — MA
Thomas Hoover — NC
Jonathan Hunt — MA
Artemas Johnson — CT
Samuel Joy — MA
David Kenyon — RI
William Kenyon — RI
Henry King — MA
Daniel Knouse, Sr. — NC

Abraham Knowlton — MA
George Lashells — NJ
James Litchfield — MA
Frances Linthicum — MD
Conrad Marshall — NJ
James McKean — PA
John Miller — PA
Johannes Plantz — NY
Henry Price — PA
Samuel Rogers — RI
Eli Shugart — PA
Ithamer Smith — MA
Henry Strang — NY
William Taylor — MA
Peter Trexler, Jr. — PA
John Van Buskirk — VA, PA
Benjamin Walker — PA
John Woods — GA

For information about our chapter or to attend a meeting: