Return to home page






Wabash Chapter NSDAR was organized on June 18, 1930.  Our chapter name, “Wabash,” was chosen for the river that runs through White County, named by the Shawnee Indians. “Wabashiki” meaning “gleaming white” because of the bright limestone in the upper part of the river.



Wabash Chapter history began with the recognition of Talitha Catherine Harrell Dartt (her name is misspelled in the photo above), daughter of Revolutionary War soldier Joel Harrell, as the last ”Real Daughter” in Illinois in 1927. She received a small pension through a DAR chapter in Springfield. Mrs. Dartt's history is recounted in the History of Enfield at, as well as  Suma Randolph Powell was the organizing regent of the chapter on June 18, 1930, with 26 charter members. She was the state vice regent in 1934 and also served as district VII director. Others who have been past district directors are Bernice Rice, Barbara Karger, and Marjorie Brown.  Sue Ellen Wallace served as district VII regent for 2011-2013.


A 1958 photo, taken at the Robinson Stewart house museum shows the close relationship between Wabash Chapter and the White County Historical Society. DAR member Mary Jane Stewart opened her home for one of the first historical society fundraisers, and at least three of the guides had been regents of the local chapter. Wabash Chapter currently uses the home for some meetings, and members have been known to portray Miss Mary Jane.




In 1935, Little Wabash Society, Children of the American Revolution, was organized and continues to work with youth projects with success in the state of Illinois and NSDAR's North Central Division.


Wayne Prairie Chapter received its name from Wayne County, with “Prairie” referring to the prairie State of Illinois and the flat land of the Fairfield area.  Wayne Prairie was organized on April 17, 1965, by Organizing Regent Charlene French Tickner. She served as state historian (1977-79),  and state chaplain (1971-73). Lula Jane Crain Feller served as state historian (1977-79) and as district VII director. On September 12, 2002, Wayne Prairie Chapter, Fairfield, merged with Wabash, headquartered in Carmi.

Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR,
the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.

Return to home page